Advice, Beauty, Fashion, Lifestyle, Makeup, Uncategorized

Jeffree Star Magic Star Setting Powder

Hello my lovely people, 

How are you all doing? Today, I back with another review and I am going to be talking to you about the Jeffree Star Magic Setting Powder. Recently I did a post where I spoke about my favourite drugstore powder, if you haven’t seen that post already you can read that here. Anyway, I have ran out of that powder and went to order it on Amazon, but it is going to take almost 3 weeks to arrive as it isn’t available in the UK and so is coming from America. I still have my absolute favourite (Laura Mercier) but I needed a new setting powder to be using on the daily. So, I had been wanting to try something from Jeffree Star’s collection for ages because I love watching his videos and so I decided to buy the Magic Setting powder. 

I had heard quite a few good things about this powder, and I had watched quite a lot of reviews about the powder before I bought it. I am in the UK, so I purchased it on the Beauty Bay website, and it cost me £21.25. The price point of this powder is pretty much in the middle of the other two that I have been using – The Laura Mercier is around £30, and the Maybelline is about £9 on Amazon. So, I was really happy with the price of the Jeffree Star powder although when it arrived it was smaller than what I was expecting. I feel like the Laura Mercier one has a lot more product in it but I could be wrong. 

First of all, I absolutely adore the packaging. I think it is super cute and so much fun. It is completely my vibe. I LOVE the pink (it’s my favourite colour) and I think the packaging is classy. One of my favourite things about the powder is the fact that it has a closure so when you have finished using the powder, it doesn’t go everywhere, and I just think that this is so useful. I am the worst for spilling loose powder everywhere!

I ordered the powder in translucent because I didn’t know what shade I needed and there wasn’t a way for me to colour match, so I went for translucent which is the same shade as my Laura Mercier powder. I love translucent powders, they set your makeup so well without adding any colour to your makeup and I just really like how they work. However, when this arrived, I was really confused because I had ordered it the shade translucent, but the powder is SO white. From my experience, I don’t think the powder works as a “translucent” shade because after applying  the powder it definitely makes my skin paler. This is so confusing and so if you have got this powder in this shade please let me know if you have also experienced the same problem. It’s not bad and it doesn’t bother me too much at all, but it just wasn’t what I was expecting. 

Other than the slight colour problem, I absolutely adore this powder. It works SO SO SO well!!! The powder smells absolutely incredible in my opinion. It is definitely scented of candyfloss (this is a strong scent so if you aren’t keen on strong smells then this probably won’t be for you) but I LOVE it. The powder applies on the skin really nicely, I tend to apply mine with a damp beauty blender. It sets my makeup so well – my skin looks smooth and airbrushed, it stops my under eye concealer from creasing, and just overall gives a really nice finish and doesn’t look heavy or cakey. The powder is really finely milled which I also really enjoy in a powder. I don’t like the powders which are quite chunky because I find it looks really obvious on my skin. Honestly, for the price I am really impressed with the powder and I have enjoyed using it. 

Overall, would I recommend it?????

Yes – I would! It is a bit more expensive than drugstore powders, but it is a great option if you want to treat yourself to a GOOD setting powder. It definitely does its job and makes your makeup last all day – looking smooth and flawless. It does smell strong of candyfloss so if that isn’t your cup of tea then I would avoid this powder. The packaging is super cute and functional, and I love the close feature. The only thing which I would suggest that you are careful about is the shade match. If I was to repurchase this, I think I would try and pick one similar to my Maybelline powder but honestly it doesn’t really bother me that much. 

I really hope that you have found this review useful and helpful. I would LOVE to buy and try some more of Jeffree’s products because I have been super impressed with the powder. If you own any makeup from Jeffree Star’s makeup line, then definitely leave me a comment letting me know what I should try next. I keep looking at the liquid lipsticks, but I would love to know what you all recommend. I hope you are all having a good day and I will see you in the next one. 

All my love,

Ell X

Where to find me:

Instagram: the_ell_journal

Twitter: @EllJournal


4 thoughts on “Jeffree Star Magic Star Setting Powder”

Leave a comment